• SPEEDUP
  • 30 Tage kostenlose Rücksendung
  • Original Dynafit Markenshop

TRAIL RUNNING | 12.06.2019 | Pascal Egli – Dynafit Athlete (Website | Instagram)

Dynafit Athlet Pascal Egli ist einer der besten Trailrunner der Szene. Im Jahr 2018 gewann er die Skyrunning World Series. Trotz seines sehr engen Zeitplans ist das Limone Extreme Skyrace immer ein Saison Highlight von Pascal. Jetzt gibt er uns einen Einblick, was dich beim Limone Extreme erwarten wird:

Limone Sul Garda ist der perfekte Ort für einen Besuch im Oktober

Das Limone Extreme ist eine Trail- und Skyrunning Veranstaltung Mitte Oktober, die viele Spitzensportler aus den verschiedensten Disziplinen am Ende der Sommersaison anzieht: Skyrunner, Bergläufer, Orientierungsläufer, Trailrunner und sogar mehrere Elite Skibergsteiger kommen immer wieder zu diesem einzigartigen Wettbewerb. Inzwischen eilt ihm der Ruf als hartes Skyrunning Event am Ende der Saison mit einem hohen Wettkampfniveau voraus, bietet aber auch eine Gelegenheit für alle, um sich zu treffen und die Saison mit einer berüchtigten Skyrunner-Party abzuschließen!

Meine Erfahrungen beim Limone Extreme

Das Limone Extreme war für mich schon immer eher mit starken Emotionen verbunden als mit herausragenden Leistungen (Mitte Oktober bin ich nach einer langen Saison mit bis zu 11 Skyraces meist etwas ausgelaugt). Deswegen ist das Rennen eine tolle Gelegenheit meine Lauf- und Skibergsteiger Freunde zu treffen und gemeinsam eine tolle Zeit zu verbringen.

 

In einem Jahr musste ich mich wegen starker Krämpfe und Müdigkeit nach einer Virusinfektion mit einem Platz unter den Top 30 begnügen, aber dafür hatte ich eine der besten Skyrunning Partys überhaupt nach dem Rennen. Im Jahr 2018 erreichte ich trotz Erschöpfung den 10ten Platz. Daraufhin konnte ich meinen Sieg in der “Sky Classic World Series” feiern!

 

Man weiß nie, wer es auf das Podium schafft!

Das Limone Extreme Skyrace und Vertical Kilometer sind etwas Besonderes aufgrund der großen Vielfalt an Athleten und der technisch anspruchsvollen und steilen Strecken. Das Dorf ist aber auch bekannt für seine legendäre Lage am Gardasee, die leckere italienische Küche, Schwimmbäder und der Urlaubsstimmung dort. Für das Rennen selbst ist es sehr schwer vorherzusagen, wer es unter die Top 10 oder auf das Podium schaffen wird. Einige Athleten kommen nach einer langen Saison mit vielen Sky- und Trailraces erschöpft nach Limone, andere hingegen trainieren ganz gezielt darauf um in diesem Rennen gut zu sein. Ein paar sind mitten in der Vorbereitung auf die Skibergsteigersaison. All das macht dieses Rennen so spannend!

Limone Extreme ist für jeden etwas!

For 2019, the race format has changed: Now there is a skyrace for all runners (both ‘short’ 10k and ‘long’ 23k distance), and the Skyrunner World Series final, which is reserved to qualified elite athletes only – more technical and very steep. I would say that the 23k/2000 m d+ Limone Skyrace is not necessarily for everyone because of its steep and technical course. But beginners or those who are unsure can definitely start with the shorter distance (10k) and then do the longer race a year later. And of course, there is the vertical race, which is a very nice way of discovering Limone’s hills by night and it is also a decent challenge!

Für 2019 hat sich das Rennformat geändert: Jetzt gibt es ein Skyrace für alle Läufer (sowohl "kurze" 10k und "lange" 23k Distanzen). Das technisch anspruchsvollere und deutlich steilere Finale der Skyrunner World Series ist nur qualifizierten Elite Athleten vorbehalten. Ich würde sagen, dass das 23km/2000+ Limone Skyrace wegen seines steilen und technischen Verlaufs nicht unbedingt für jeden geeignet ist. Aber Anfänger oder diejenigen, die sich unsicher sind, können definitiv mit der kürzeren Distanz (10k) beginnen und dann ein Jahr später das längere Rennen machen. Und natürlich gibt es da noch das Vertical Race welches eine sehr schöne Möglichkeit bietet, die Hügel von Limone bei Nacht zu erkunden, und auch eine ordentliche Herausforderung darstellt!

Limone Extreme – trete gegen Trailrunning Profis an!

Tipps für das Limone Extreme

Wenn du vorhast, das Skyrace zu laufen oder dich für das Elite Skyrace qualifiziert hast empfehle ich dir, mindestens eine Flask in der Hand oder der Trail-Weste zu tragen, da das Klima sehr trocken und heiß sein kann und du wirklich durstig werden kannst. Ein paar Energy Gels solltest du auch dabei haben (z.B. 1 Gel alle 40 Minuten).

 

Ich rate dir zudem, nicht zu schnell zu starten; einige Leute beginnen ziemlich schnell auf der Straße und dem ersten steilen Anstieg, aber danach ist es noch ein langer Weg mit mehreren längeren und kürzeren Ab- und Anstiegen. Deine Beine könnten zu früh müde werden. Daher ist es am besten, bis nach dem ersten An- und Abstieg in einem gemäßigten Tempo zu laufen und dann erst schneller zu werden. Auch der letzte Abstieg sollte nicht unterschätzt werden, da er recht technisch ist. Deshalb ist es für Limone Extreme wichtig, deine Downhill Fähigkeiten zu trainieren! In der Vergangenheit wurde das Rennen nicht selten im letzten Downhill entschieden und gewonnen. 

 

Für das Vertical Race ist es wichtig, eine gute Stirnlampe dabei zu haben. Am besten ist es, wenn du deinem eigenen Tempo folgst und nicht zu sehr auf die anderen Läufer achtest, da es sich um einen ziemlich langen Anstieg von 1.100 Höhenmeter handelt. Gehe erst an deine Grenzen wenn du schon mehr als die Hälfte der Strecke nach oben hinter dir hast. Und vergiss nicht, die Abendstimmung und Aussicht auf das Dorf Limone und den Gardasee zu genießen!

 

Wenn du also Seite an Seite mit den weltbesten Skyrunnern antreten, den Kampf um den Sieg der Skyrunner World Series hautnah verfolgen, aber auch gutes Essen und Urlaubsstimmung genießen willst, ist Limone im Oktober genau der richtige Ort! Und vergiss nicht deine Badesachen…

• SPEEDUP
  • 30 days free return
  • Original Dynafit Brand Shop

TRAIL RUNNING | 12.06.2019 | Pascal Egli – Dynafit Athlete (Website | Instagram)

Dynafit Athlete Pascal Egli is one of the best trail runners the scene has to offer. In 2018 he managed to win the Skyrunning World Series. Despite his very tight running schedule the Limone Extreme Skyrace is always one of Pascal’s season highlights. Following he´ll give you some glimpses what you can expect running at Limone Extreme:

Limone Sul Garda is the place to go in October

Limone Extreme is a trail- and skyrunning event taking place in mid-October at the end of the summer racing season and it usually attracts many top athletes from different disciplines: Skyrunners, mountain runners, orienteering runners, trail runners and even several elite ski mountaineers usually show up for this unique event. That’s why it has gotten a reputation of being a very tough end-of-season skyrunning event with a high competition level, but also an occasion for everyone to meet up and celebrate the season with an infamous skyrunners’ party!

My experiences at Limone Extreme

For me Limone Extreme has always been connected to strong emotions and not necessarily to my best performances (since by mid-October I am usually a bit tired from a long season with up to 11 skyraces), but always to meeting up with my running and skimountaineering friends and spending a great time.

 

In one year I had to settle with a top 30 place due to strong cramps and fatigue after a virus infection, but I had maybe one of the best skyrunning parties ever after the race. In 2018, despite being tired at the end of the season, I managed a 10th place and could celebrate my win of the ‘Sky Classic World Series’!

 

You never know who will make it to the podium!

Limone Extreme Skyrace and Vertical Kilometer is special due to the high diversity of athletes and for the technical, rough and steep trails. But the village is also popular for its iconic setting on the shore of Lake Garda, with tasty Italian food, swimming pools and a holiday atmosphere. For the race itself it is very hard to predict who will be in the top 10 or on the podium, because some athletes arrive in Limone exhausted from a long season with many sky- and trailraces and some people prepare very specifically to do well in this race. Others are in the middle of the preparation of their ski mountaineering season. That’s what makes this race exciting!

Limone Extreme for everyone!

For 2019, the race format has changed: Now there is a skyrace for all runners (both ‘short’ 10k and ‘long’ 23k distance), and the Skyrunner World Series final, which is reserved to qualified elite athletes only – more technical and very steep. I would say that the 23k/2000 m d+ Limone Skyrace is not necessarily for everyone because of its steep and technical course. But beginners or those who are unsure can definitely start with the shorter distance (10k) and then do the longer race a year later. And of course, there is the vertical race, which is a very nice way of discovering Limone’s hills by night and it is also a decent challenge!

For 2019, the race format has changed: Now there is a skyrace for all runners (both ‘short’ 10k and ‘long’ 23k distance), and the Skyrunner World Series final, which is reserved to qualified elite athletes only – more technical and very steep. I would say that the 23k/2000 m d+ Limone Skyrace is not necessarily for everyone because of its steep and technical course. But beginners or those who are unsure can definitely start with the shorter distance (10k) and then do the longer race a year later. And of course, there is the vertical race, which is a very nice way of discovering Limone’s hills by night and it is also a decent challenge!

Limone Extreme – run against trailrunning professionals!

Tips for running the Limone Extreme

If you are planning to do the skyrace or if you are qualified for the elite skyrace I recommend you to carry at least some soft bottle(s) in your hands (or in a small trail vest), because the weather can be very dry and hot and you may get really thirsty. You also need to carry some energy gels with you, one for every 40 minutes of racing.

 

I recommend not to start too fast; some people start out quite fast on the first road and on the steep uphill, but after the first uphill there is still a long way to go with several longer and shorter downhills and uphills - your legs may get tired too early. So it is best to go at a comfortable pace until after the first uphill and downhill and then start pushing more. Also, the last downhill should not be underestimated because it is quite technical. Therefore, for Limone Extreme it is important to go and train your downhill skills! In several editions the race was decided and won in the last downhill.

 

For the vertical race it is important to bring a good headlamp. The best is to try and follow your own pace and not look too much at the other competitors, as it is quite a long vertical of 1100 m d+. Only start scratching your limits once you are past halfway up. And don’t forget to enjoy the evening views of the village of Limone and lake Garda!


If you want to compete alongside the world’s best Skyrunners, watch ‘in real’ the battle for the win of the Skyrunner World Series, but also enjoy some good food and holiday atmosphere, Limone is the place to go to in October! And don’t forget your bathing suit…